BEING ORDINARY BUT EXPECT EXTRAORDINARY

Life is never a straight line

In many of life situations we oftentimes find ourselves faced difficult situations and making us feel so helpless and weak.  Twenty odd plus years ago, in 1996 I was starting out on a new job. In my initial years in those days we were in the midst of an economic recession.

Those were very challenging years and many were trying to stay in our jobs by being willing to multi-task a few tasks at the same time, perform in different roles and functions and holding two portfolios with no additional remuneration, life could be said was a tough daily struggle.

And the bosses then were just like the Egyptian hard slave drivers. They were constantly driving us very hard as well as constantly reminding us that if we are not happy, we could always walk out through the organization main gate.  Well it was a fact that there were many out there looking for a job, like a ratio of 200:1 applicants to job ratio. Those without a job would gladly trade places with us even if it means lower pay and more work.

Coupled with our demanding work environment and a challenging industry, we faced many tough situations and problematic issues quite commonly. It forced me to bring many of the difficult challenges that I have encountered to Him in prayers. Indeed one of the most remembered prayers is always asking the Lord to give wisdom from above  whenever I am faced with very challenging or difficult situations. Then there would be a download of an idea or a certain line of thought sort of like to provides direction on tackling the situations. It really works and it is amazing that with wisdom from above given by Him, I am able to  resolve many complicated issues and problems that could otherwise stresses me out of the job. I have seen it happened to a colleague who succumbed to depression from the stresses and requires long medical leave and care before quitting the organization.(GOD.STILL.SPEAKS)

of love

“It is a brutal world of harsh reality – that is the truth. You either can swim or you get sunk.”

*So I have learned to take away His promise to commit all things to Him in prayers.

And with the prayers support of my bible study group those years, my situation got better as God helps me through.

Luke 18:1 And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint; 2 Saying, There was in a city a judge, which feared not God, neither regarded man: 3 And there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of mine adversary. 4 And he would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself, Though I fear not God, nor regard man; 5 Yet because this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me. 6 And the Lord said, Hear what the unjust judge saith.

Stalled, needing help

One time, while together with the church for the bible camp, I had a car power steering failure that causes the steering to be very heavy even though I could struggle to drive. I also prayed over this and commit this to God for His help to this problem. I also started to trouble shoot for the cause of the failure through internet forum. I did managed to track down the part number info on the failed component part. So the next step would be to indent and place the oversea order for the replacement part and finding a mechanic to do the repair. But before I could do that, as I started the car the next morning to still continue using to drive to work, the car power steering suddenly came back working again much to my relief. The problem mysteriously disappeared and even after many years till today, the problem never came back. Praise and glory be to God for answered prayer.

Same car but with a different technical problem another time. Once as I tried to start the car, I heard a familiar thud sound, indicating a flat battery. This happened at a wrong time as I need to drive back over to Malaysia on that same day. I believe prayer does works miracle and I prayed over this stalled car situation and commit to God. Miraculously, the engine was able to be started and so I then make sure that I do not off the engine and started to drive all the way to the mechanic for a check. The mechanic used his battery check instrument to trouble shoot and it shows an amazing close to zero percent of power remaining on the battery. He was surprised and amazed that the car could be started with this weak battery and to prove that the instrument was reading without any error, it was tested on a good battery and the test shows the instrument was working perfectly. In our small talk, he could only attribute this either to a very good engine, that even a small amount of electricity could start the engine or it is a miracle. For me it was a miracle and through that I had an opportunity to witness and share the gospel to him.

journey

~Lord Jesus asks us to bring all our cares and worries to Him in prayer just like the hymn below:~

What a Friend we have in Jesus,
All our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
Everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit,
O what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer!

Have we trials and temptations?
Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged,
Take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful
Who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness,
Take it to the Lord in prayer.

Are we weak and heavy-laden,
Cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior, still our refuge—
Take it to the Lord in prayer;
Do thy friends despise, forsake thee?
Take it to the Lord in prayer;
In His arms He’ll take and shield thee,
Thou wilt find a solace there.

“WHEN PRAYERS BECOMES YOUR HABIT, MIRACLES BECOMES YOUR LIFESTYLE”

“James 5:16 The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” (CLOUDS OF BLESSINGS)

Leave a comment